- The Short Answer: What NO Stands For Here
- Who Issues Neuro-Oncology Certification
- Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
- What the Credential Actually Tests
- Exam Format at a Glance
- Who Can Sit for It: Four Alternative Routes
- Cost and Scheduling: What to Verify
- Staying Certified: C-cert, Not a Ten-Year Cycle
- Where the Credential Fits in a Career
- Frequently Asked Questions
- NO here means Neuro-Oncology Certification, a physician subspecialty credential issued by the United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS).
- The initial exam is 200 multiple-choice questions in four hours, split into two parts with a 15-minute break.
- Four weighted domains: Adult Tumors 35%, Pediatric Tumors 25%, Metastatic Disease 15%, Systemic Cancer-Related Disorders 25%.
- The initial exam runs in odd-numbered years only; the next published sitting is December 6-10, 2027.
The Short Answer: What NO Stands For Here
On this site, NO stands for Neuro-Oncology Certification. It is the subspecialty credential for physicians who care for patients with tumors of the nervous system and with the neurologic complications of cancer. The abbreviation is the one the certifying body itself uses for this subspecialty, and the exact public initial-exam product identifier is EX_NO_I.
If you landed here from a search for a general definition, the companion pages What Is NO?, NO Meaning, and What Is NO Certification? cover the same ground from slightly different angles. This article focuses on the practical question behind the acronym: what the credential is, who awards it, and what it takes to earn it.
Who Issues Neuro-Oncology Certification
The credential is awarded by the United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS). UCNS certifies physicians in several neurologic subspecialties, and neuro-oncology is one of them. The certification is a subspecialty layer on top of a primary board certification; it does not replace it.
Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
Short abbreviations get reused across professions, and "NO" is no exception. Searchers who type the letters into a search engine can land on unrelated certifications, clinical shorthand, or general-purpose definitions. That is why it helps to anchor on the full name every time: Neuro-Oncology Certification, UCNS.
A few practical ways to keep the credential straight:
- Check the issuer. If the certifying body is not UCNS, you are reading about a different credential.
- Check the audience. This credential is for physicians who already hold a qualifying primary board certification and a current, unrestricted license.
- Check the content. The syllabus is built around nervous system tumors and cancer-related neurologic disorders, not general oncology or general neurology.
The site also has pages that address the phrasing directly, including What Does NO Mean?, What Is A NO?, and the canonical What Does NO Stand For? entry. For the full overview of the credential itself, see NO Certification.
What the Credential Actually Tests
The exam is organized around four weighted categories. The currently linked content outline is dated October 10, 2018, so it is not a newly issued 2026 blueprint, but it is the official scope document linked from UCNS. One small wrinkle: the detailed section heading for the fourth category reads "Systemic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders," while the summary table prints "Systematic." That is an internal wording discrepancy in the outline, and the substance is the same set of topics.
Domain 1: Adult Primary Nervous System Tumors (35%)
The largest domain, and the one that rewards deep command of tumor biology and management.
- Diagnostic methods: clinical history and examination, laboratory testing, imaging, neuropathology, and other neurodiagnostic procedures
- Standard, experimental, and medical neuro-oncologic therapies
Domain 2: Pediatric Primary Nervous System Tumors (25%)
Mirrors the adult domain in structure but tests a different disease spectrum.
- Diagnostic methods across the same categories: history and examination, laboratory testing, imaging, neuropathology, neurodiagnostics
- Standard, experimental, and medical neuro-oncologic therapies in children
Domain 3: Metastatic Cancer to the Nervous System (15%)
The smallest domain by weight, but it covers a wide anatomic range.
- Brain and spinal cord metastases
- Skull base disease
- Leptomeningeal disease
- Epidural disease and spinal cord compression
- Plexus and peripheral nerve disease
Domain 4: Systemic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders (25%)
The most heterogeneous domain, spanning the neurologic consequences of cancer and its treatment.
- Toxic, nutritional, and metabolic encephalopathy
- Central and systemic infections
- Cerebrovascular disease and venous thrombosis
- Blood products and growth-factor support; neutropenia, thrombocytopenia, and anemia
- Paraneoplastic syndromes
- Adverse effects of surgery, drugs, and radiation
- Seizures and raised intracranial pressure
- Transplantation-related neurologic complications
- Pain and headache care; palliation and end-of-life care
For a deeper walk through each category, read NO Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas. If you want a quick-reference version, the NO Cheat Sheet 2026 condenses the must-know facts.
Exam Format at a Glance
| Feature | Initial Neuro-Oncology Exam |
|---|---|
| Question count | 200 multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | Four hours of testing time |
| Structure | Two parts with a 15-minute structured break; once a part is submitted, you cannot return to it |
| Reference materials | Closed book |
| Testing options | Meazure Learning test centers, or live online proctoring through ProctorU |
| Scored vs. pretest split | Not publicly specified in the retrieved official materials |
| Numerical passing score | Not verified; UCNS describes expert standard setting and post-exam psychometric review |
Remote candidates have extra logistics. You must complete equipment and workspace checks and use the required Guardian browser, and you should allow appointment time beyond the four-hour exam for setup and the break. Results normally arrive after processing rather than immediately.
Questions about difficulty and scoring are covered in How Hard Is the NO Exam? and NO Passing Score 2026. On outcomes, official certification statistics report an 85% historical average initial NO pass rate, but without a disclosed cohort range or denominator, and it is not a 2025 or 2026 figure. The details are in NO Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
Who Can Sit for It: Four Alternative Routes
Eligibility starts with general requirements: a qualifying primary certification and current, unrestricted licensure. Qualifying certifications include ABMS certification in neurology, child neurology, neurological surgery, internal medicine and medical oncology, pediatrics and pediatric hematology-oncology, or radiation oncology, or equivalent AOA or RCPSC certification. You need unrestricted licensure in the United States, its territories, or Canada, and in each jurisdiction where you practice.
Beyond that, applicants complete one of four alternative routes. They are alternatives, not four hurdles, and they are credentialing routes rather than additional exams.
| Route | Core Requirement |
|---|---|
| 1. UCNS-Accredited Fellowship | At least 12 months of neuro-oncology fellowship; apply within 48 months of completion; director verification or completion certificate. Fellows applying early must finish at least 25 days before exam week, with confirmation received within 20 days of completion. |
| 2. Practice Track | At least 36 months after residency with at least 25% of professional time in neuro-oncology, within the prior 60 months; two physician letters together cover the full interval. Also requires one of: 12+ months of formal non-accredited post-residency NO training, 50+ AMA PRA Category 1 NO-specific CME hours in the prior 60 months, or a full-time academic appointment teaching NO with a chair letter. |
| 3. Academic Appointment at a UCNS-Accredited Training Program | Full-time faculty appointment teaching NO fellows, department-chair verification, plus the practice-time and practice-pattern requirements above. |
| 4. Internationally Trained Faculty at UCNS-Accredited Training Programs | Active program-director or faculty appointment (or written offer); chair verification that passing the next available exam is a condition of appointment and that recruitment and retention are essential; documentation of the required practice period within the preceding 60 months. |
The Practice Track measures its 60-month window to the application deadline or August 31, whichever is later, and non-accredited subspecialty training can count toward that interval. The fourth route accepts a medical diploma from a World Directory of Medical Schools institution and primary-specialty certification by a competent foreign board approved by the Certification Council, along with valid US, territorial, or Canadian licensure. UCNS provides template letters for the verification documents. Full details are in NO Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Key Takeaway
Decide which route fits you before you build a timeline. A graduating fellow, a practicing clinician with years of tumor-focused work, a faculty member, and an internationally trained faculty member each document eligibility differently, and the documentation takes time to collect.
Cost and Scheduling: What to Verify
The initial exam runs in odd-numbered years
There is no 2026 sitting. The next published sitting is December 6-10, 2027. The published application timeline for that cycle:
- Applications open March 1
- Standard deadline: June 1
- Extended deadline: June 15, with a $500 late fee
- Approved candidates schedule their appointment between July 19 and November 22
More on windows and deadlines is in NO Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
The fee picture has a source conflict
Be careful here. The current general UCNS certification fee schedule and FAQ publish a total of $1,700: a $680 nonrefundable application fee plus a $1,020 examination fee, with no member or non-member price tiers. Eligible graduates of UCNS-accredited fellowships receive a $250 discount when applying within 48 months, provided the program was accredited at the time of completion.
However, the undated store page for the exact NO product (EX_NO_I) displays $2,200. The official pages do not explicitly reconcile the difference, so neither number should be treated as the uncontested checkout price.
Staying Certified: C-cert, Not a Ten-Year Cycle
Older descriptions of subspecialty certification sometimes mention a ten-year renewal model. That is a legacy approach and is not the current rule. Validity is maintained through annual Continuous Certification (C-cert), which begins the calendar year after initial certification.
Each year, you need to:
- Maintain the required primary board certification and an unrestricted license.
- Read the annual list of up to ten articles or guidelines.
- Pay the annual fee: $175 per subspecialty, or $150 if paid by June 1.
- Pass that year's C-cert quiz by December 31.
The renewal quiz is a separate activity: 25 questions, 100 minutes, open-article, unproctored, with an 80% passing requirement and up to three attempts. None of those logistics describe the initial exam, and the published 2026 NO C-cert reading list is continuing-certification preparation, not a replacement initial-exam blueprint. No additional UCNS CME-hour reporting is required beyond C-cert, although primary-board CME obligations remain separate. Two consecutive years of noncompliance lead to loss of certification.
Where the Credential Fits in a Career
Neuro-oncology sits where several specialties meet. The qualifying primary certifications include neurology, child neurology, neurological surgery, medical oncology (via internal medicine), pediatric hematology-oncology, and radiation oncology, so candidates come from very different training backgrounds. The credential signals subspecialty focus on nervous system tumors and cancer-related neurologic disease, which is relevant to academic neuro-oncology programs, cancer centers, and the faculty appointments referenced in routes 3 and 4.
On compensation and return on investment, be cautious. An occupational salary reflects the whole role, location, and employer, and it should not be attributed to the credential alone; no measured premium for certification is established here. For that analysis, see NO Salary Guide 2026 and Is the NO Certification Worth It?. Related pages on careers and preparation include NO Jobs and NO Training.
Turning the definition into a plan
Knowing what the letters stand for is only the first step. If you intend to sit for the exam, build your preparation around the domain weights: front-load Adult Tumors (35%) because it is the largest block, give Pediatric Tumors and Systemic Cancer-Related Disorders equal attention at 25% each, and reserve a focused pass on Metastatic Disease (15%) with particular attention to leptomeningeal disease and spinal cord compression. The NO Study Guide 2026 lays out a full plan, and you can test yourself against the blueprint categories on the NO Exam Prep practice test site. When you are ready to measure your progress by domain, return to the main practice question bank for timed sets.
Frequently Asked Questions
NO stands for Neuro-Oncology Certification, a physician subspecialty credential issued by the United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS). It is distinct from nursing oncology certificates, ABPN neurology examinations, and medical-oncology board certificates.
The initial exam has 200 multiple-choice questions to be completed in four hours. It is closed book and delivered in two parts with a 15-minute structured break; you cannot return to a part after submitting it. The scored-versus-pretest split is not publicly specified.
The initial exam is offered every other year, in odd-numbered years, so there is no 2026 sitting. The next published sitting is December 6-10, 2027, with applications opening March 1 and closing June 1 (extended to June 15 with a $500 late fee).
The general UCNS fee schedule and FAQ publish $1,700 ($680 nonrefundable application plus $1,020 examination), while the exact NO store product page displays $2,200. The official pages do not reconcile the difference, so verify the amount on your application invoice. Eligible fellowship graduates may receive a $250 discount.
No. The legacy ten-year renewal model is not the current rule. Certification is maintained through annual Continuous Certification (C-cert), which involves reading an annual article list, paying the annual fee, and passing that year's quiz by December 31.