- What the Blueprint Actually Says
- Exam Format and Delivery Mechanics
- Domain 1: Adult Primary Nervous System Tumors (35%)
- Domain 2: Pediatric Primary Nervous System Tumors (25%)
- Domain 3: Metastatic Cancer to the Nervous System (15%)
- Domain 4: Systemic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders (25%)
- Domain Weights at a Glance
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain Weight
- Timing, Eligibility, and Cost Context
- After Passing: C-cert Is Not the Initial Exam
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Neuro-Oncology Certification (NO) exam from UCNS has four weighted domains: 35%, 25%, 15%, and 25%.
- Adult tumors are the largest domain, but pediatric tumors and systemic cancer-related disorders each carry a full 25%.
- The current content outline was revised October 10, 2018; it is not a newly issued 2026 blueprint.
- No initial exam is offered in 2026; the next published sitting is December 6-10, 2027.
What the Blueprint Actually Says
If you are preparing for the United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) Neuro-Oncology Certification (NO), the single most useful document is the official Neuro-Oncology Certification Examination Content Outline. It divides the initial exam into four weighted categories, and every hour you invest in preparation should be allocated with those weights in mind.
Two caveats are worth stating up front. First, the outline currently linked from UCNS was revised October 10, 2018. Despite the 2026 framing of this guide, there is no newly issued 2026 blueprint, so treat the 2018 outline as the governing scope document and verify the current version before you commit to a study plan. Second, this credential is the physician subspecialty certification from UCNS. It is not a nursing oncology certificate, not an ABPN neurology examination, and not a medical-oncology board certificate, so resources built for those exams will only partially overlap.
For a broader orientation to the credential itself, see What Is NO Certification? and the overview at NO Certification. This article focuses narrowly on the content areas.
Exam Format and Delivery Mechanics
Before diving into domains, it helps to understand the container those domains arrive in. The initial exam (UCNS product identifier EX_NO_I) consists of 200 multiple-choice questions delivered in four hours. UCNS has not publicly specified, in the retrieved official materials, how many of those items are scored versus pretest, so do not assume every item counts or that you can identify which do not.
- Two parts, one break. The closed-book exam has two parts separated by a 15-minute structured break. After you submit a part, you cannot return to it, so pacing within each part matters.
- Two delivery options. You can test at a Meazure Learning test center or through live online proctoring via ProctorU. The test-center option took effect January 1, 2025, so older remote-only instructions are superseded.
- Remote setup overhead. Remote candidates must complete equipment and workspace checks and use the required Guardian browser. Allow additional appointment time beyond the four hours for setup and the break.
- Results. Results arrive after processing rather than immediately. UCNS describes expert standard setting and post-exam psychometric review, and a numerical initial-exam passing score has not been verified, so avoid any source that claims a precise cut score. For more on this, see NO Passing Score 2026.
Domain 1: Adult Primary Nervous System Tumors (35%)
This is the heaviest domain by a clear margin. More than one in three questions will come from adult primary nervous system tumors, so a weak foundation here is difficult to offset elsewhere. The official outline organizes the domain around two pillars: diagnostic methods and therapies.
Adult Tumors: Diagnostic Methods
Expect questions that ask you to integrate several diagnostic inputs into a single clinical decision, rather than recalling isolated facts.
- Clinical history and examination
- Laboratory testing
- Imaging
- Neuropathology
- Other neurodiagnostic procedures
Adult Tumors: Therapies
The outline covers standard, experimental, and medical neuro-oncologic therapies. That wording signals that candidates should know both established treatment approaches and the reasoning behind investigational ones.
- Standard therapies and their indications
- Experimental approaches and the rationale for them
- Medical (systemic) neuro-oncologic management
Practically, this means a candidate must be able to move fluidly between an imaging pattern, a neuropathologic finding, and a management decision. Because neuropathology and imaging are explicitly listed as diagnostic categories, build review sessions that pair the two rather than studying them in separate silos. Our NO Study Guide 2026 walks through how to structure that kind of integrated review.
Domain 2: Pediatric Primary Nervous System Tumors (25%)
Pediatric tumors carry the same weight as systemic cancer-related disorders, and it is the domain most often under-prepared by adult-trained neurologists, neurosurgeons, and medical oncologists. At 25%, roughly a quarter of the exam is devoted to it, so it cannot be treated as an afterthought.
Like the adult domain, the pediatric domain is built around diagnostic methods (clinical history and examination, laboratory testing, imaging, neuropathology, and other neurodiagnostic procedures) and standard, experimental, and medical neuro-oncologic therapies. The structure mirrors Domain 1, but the content differs substantially because tumor types, presentation, and treatment approaches in children are not simply scaled-down versions of adult disease.
The eligibility pathways reflect this breadth: the credential is open to specialists in child neurology and in pediatrics combined with pediatric hematology-oncology, among others, so the exam is designed to be fair to candidates arriving from either side of the adult-pediatric divide. That also means adult-trained candidates must close their pediatric gap and vice versa. For a sense of how this affects overall difficulty, read How Hard Is the NO Exam?
Domain 3: Metastatic Cancer to the Nervous System (15%)
Domain 3 is the smallest at 15%, but its scope is wide, and the questions often draw on neurologic localization skills as much as oncology knowledge. The outline enumerates the anatomic territories involved:
Metastatic Disease: Anatomic Coverage
The outline spells out the compartments a candidate must be comfortable with.
- Brain and spinal cord
- Skull base
- Leptomeningeal disease
- Epidural disease
- Plexus and peripheral nerve disease
- Spinal cord compression
Spinal cord compression deserves special attention. It is an urgent, high-stakes presentation, and exam writers favor scenarios that test recognition and sequencing of decisions. Likewise, leptomeningeal disease and plexus involvement are classic areas where a clinician who has not seen many cases may need deliberate review.
Do not let the lower percentage lull you. Fifteen percent of a 200-question exam is still a substantial number of items, and because the domain overlaps conceptually with Domain 4 (for example, raised intracranial pressure and seizures show up across both), strong preparation here pays dividends elsewhere.
Domain 4: Systemic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders (25%)
Domain 4 is the broadest in terms of topic variety. A naming note: the detailed section heading in the content outline reads "Systemic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders," while the summary table prints "Systematic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders." This is an internal wording discrepancy in the official document, and we retain it here rather than silently pretending the outline is uniform. The substance of the domain is unaffected.
The outline lists a wide range of topics. Grouping them helps in planning:
Metabolic, Infectious, and Vascular Complications
- Toxic, nutritional, and metabolic encephalopathy
- Central and systemic infections
- Cerebrovascular disease
- Venous thrombosis
Hematologic and Supportive Care
- Blood products and growth-factor support
- Neutropenia, thrombocytopenia, and anemia
- Transplantation-related neurologic complications
Neurologic Syndromes and Treatment Effects
- Paraneoplastic syndromes
- Adverse effects of surgery, drugs, and radiation
- Seizures
- Raised intracranial pressure
Symptom Control and Palliative Care
- Pain and headache care
- Palliation and end-of-life care
This domain rewards candidates who think like consulting neurologists in a cancer center: the patient may not have a primary brain tumor at all, yet presents with encephalopathy, a seizure, a clot, or a treatment-related toxicity. Palliation and end-of-life care are explicitly in scope, which is a reminder that the exam values the full arc of patient care and not just tumor-directed therapy.
Domain Weights at a Glance
| Domain | Weight | Approx. Share of 200 Items* | Core Emphasis |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Adult Primary Nervous System Tumors | 35% | About 70 | Diagnostic methods; standard, experimental, and medical therapies |
| 2. Pediatric Primary Nervous System Tumors | 25% | About 50 | Diagnostic methods; standard, experimental, and medical therapies |
| 3. Metastatic Cancer to the Nervous System | 15% | About 30 | Brain/spinal cord, skull base, leptomeningeal, epidural, plexus/nerve, cord compression |
| 4. Systemic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders | 25% | About 50 | Encephalopathy, infection, stroke, paraneoplastic, treatment toxicity, palliation |
*Illustrative arithmetic only: applying the published percentages to a 200-question exam. UCNS has not publicly specified the scored-versus-pretest split, so actual counts per domain may differ.
Key Takeaway
The two tumor domains together account for 60% of the blueprint, but the other 40% (metastatic and systemic) is where generalist study materials tend to be thinnest. Balanced coverage beats a deep dive into any single domain.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain Weight
Generic study technique matters less here than allocating time according to this specific blueprint. One sensible approach is to front-load the heaviest and most foundational domain, then layer in the others, finishing with integration. This is an example, not a prescription; adjust for your own background.
Adult Tumors (Domain 1)
- Pair imaging patterns with neuropathology for each tumor type
- Review standard, experimental, and medical therapies
Pediatric Tumors (Domain 2)
- Treat as a fresh subject, especially if your training was adult-focused
- Mirror the diagnostic-then-therapy structure used for Domain 1
Metastatic Disease (Domain 3)
- Walk anatomically: brain, spine, skull base, meninges, plexus
- Drill spinal cord compression decision-making
Systemic Disorders and Integration (Domain 4)
- Cover encephalopathy, thrombosis, paraneoplastic syndromes, and treatment toxicity
- Finish with mixed-domain question sets to practice switching contexts
Because you cannot return to a part once submitted, finish your preparation with timed, mixed-domain practice that simulates the two-part format. You can use our NO practice tests for this, and the one-page summary in the NO Cheat Sheet 2026 is useful for last-pass review of must-know facts.
Timing, Eligibility, and Cost Context
Knowing the domains is only useful if you can sit the exam, so a few logistical facts belong in any complete domain guide.
Scheduling: No Initial Exam in 2026
The initial NO exam runs biennially in odd-numbered years, so there is no initial sitting in 2026. The next published sitting is December 6-10, 2027. Applications open March 1, the standard deadline is June 1, and an extended deadline of June 15 carries a $500 late fee. Approved candidates schedule their appointment between July 19 and November 22. The full calendar is covered in NO Exam Dates 2026.
Eligibility: Four Alternative Routes
Applicants need a qualifying primary certification (for example, neurology, child neurology, neurological surgery, internal medicine plus medical oncology, pediatrics plus pediatric hematology-oncology, or radiation oncology, or equivalent AOA/RCPSC certification) and unrestricted licensure. Beyond that, candidates complete one of four alternative routes, not all four:
| Route | Key Requirement |
|---|---|
| 1. UCNS-Accredited Fellowship | At least 12 months of NO fellowship; apply within 48 months of completion |
| 2. Practice Track | At least 36 months post-residency with at least 25% of professional time in NO within the prior 60 months, plus one additional qualifier (formal training, 50 NO-specific CME hours, or a full-time teaching appointment) |
| 3. Academic Appointment at a UCNS-Accredited Program | Full-time faculty teaching NO fellows, with chair verification and practice requirements |
| 4. Internationally Trained Faculty | Active or offered appointment at an accredited program, with chair verification and documented practice period |
These are credentialing routes, not additional exams. Details live in NO Requirements 2026.
Fees: Read the Caveat
After Passing: C-cert Is Not the Initial Exam
A common source of confusion is mixing up the initial exam with continuing certification. Validity is maintained through annual Continuous Certification (C-cert), which begins the calendar year after you earn the credential. A legacy ten-year renewal model is not the current rule.
- Maintain your required primary board certification and unrestricted license.
- Read the annual list of up to ten articles or guidelines.
- Pay the $175 annual fee per subspecialty ($150 if paid by June 1).
- Pass that year's C-cert quiz by December 31.
The C-cert quiz is a separate 25-question, 100-minute, open-article, unproctored activity with an 80% passing requirement and up to three attempts. None of those quiz logistics describe the initial exam, and the annual reading list is continuing-certification material, not a replacement initial-exam blueprint. Two consecutive years of noncompliance lead to loss of certification.
For the career side of the equation, including who hires certified neuro-oncologists, see NO Jobs, NO Salary Guide 2026, and Is the NO Certification Worth It?. Note that any salary figure reflects the occupation as a whole and should not be attributed to the credential alone.
Frequently Asked Questions
Four weighted categories: Adult Primary Nervous System Tumors (35%), Pediatric Primary Nervous System Tumors (25%), Metastatic Cancer to the Nervous System (15%), and Systemic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders (25%), per the UCNS content outline revised October 10, 2018.
Not based on the materials retrieved. The currently linked outline is the October 10, 2018 revision. The published 2026 C-cert reading list supports continuing certification and is not a replacement initial-exam blueprint, so confirm the current outline with UCNS before finalizing your plan.
No. The initial exam is offered biennially in odd-numbered years. The next published sitting is December 6-10, 2027, with applications opening March 1 and the standard deadline on June 1. See NO Exam Dates 2026 for the schedule.
Official certification statistics report an 85% historical average initial NO pass rate, but without a disclosed cohort range or denominator. It is not a 2025-specific or 2026 figure, so interpret it cautiously. More context is in NO Pass Rate 2026.
Adult tumors carry the most weight at 35%, but pediatric tumors and systemic cancer-related disorders each carry 25%, and metastatic disease adds 15%. Because you cannot return to a submitted part, aim for balanced competence across all four rather than over-investing in one.