NO logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

NO Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • No numerical initial-exam passing score is publicly verified for UCNS Neuro-Oncology Certification (NO); standard setting is expert-driven.
  • The initial exam is 200 multiple-choice questions in four hours, split into two parts with a 15-minute break.
  • The 85% figure is a historical average pass rate, not a cut score and not a 2026 statistic.
  • The initial exam is not offered in 2026; the next published sitting is December 6-10, 2027.

What "Passing Score" Means for Neuro-Oncology Certification (NO)

Candidates searching for the passing score on the UCNS Neuro-Oncology Certification (NO) exam usually want one number: the percentage of questions they must answer correctly. Here is the honest answer: a numerical initial-exam passing score has not been verified in the official materials retrieved for this article. UCNS does not publish a fixed percentage-correct cut line for the initial examination (product identifier EX_NO_I). Instead, the council describes an expert standard-setting process followed by post-exam psychometric review.

That distinction matters. Many candidates assume a flat 70% or 80% threshold, then build their entire preparation around hitting that number on practice tests. Because the real standard is set by expert judgment about minimum competence, and not by a published percentage, the practical goal is different: demonstrate command of the full content outline rather than aiming for a target score on a single practice set.

Why we won't quote a number: Any site that tells you the NO passing score is a specific percentage is either importing the rules of a different credential or guessing. This article uses only what UCNS has published about Neuro-Oncology Certification (NO) specifically, which is a description of the process, not a cut score.

If you are still deciding whether this credential fits your career, our What Is NO Certification? overview covers the basics, and NO Certification provides the broader landscape.

How UCNS Sets the Bar

UCNS publishes an examination development document describing how its subspecialty exams are built and scored. The central idea is that the passing standard reflects what a minimally competent subspecialist should know, determined by content experts rather than by a fixed percentage or a curve against other test takers.

Practically, that has several implications for you:

  • The standard is criterion-referenced in spirit. You are being judged against an expert-defined expectation, not ranked against the other candidates in your sitting.
  • Post-exam psychometric review occurs before results are finalized. This is one reason results arrive after processing rather than the moment you submit.
  • The scored-versus-pretest split is not publicly specified. The retrieved official materials do not say how many of the 200 items count toward your score, so you should treat every question as if it matters.

Because you cannot reverse-engineer the cut score, your best protection is breadth. Candidates who skip a weighted domain because they feel confident elsewhere are taking a risk the published materials give them no way to quantify. For more on how demanding the test feels in practice, see How Hard Is the NO Exam?

Exam Format That Shapes Your Score

Your score is a product of knowledge and execution. The initial exam has a specific structure worth understanding before you sit for it.

FeatureNeuro-Oncology Certification (NO) Initial Exam
Certifying bodyUnited Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS)
Question count200 multiple-choice questions
Time allowedFour hours
StructureTwo parts with a 15-minute structured break
Returning to a submitted partNot permitted
Reference materialsClosed-book
Delivery optionsMeazure Learning test centers or live online proctoring via ProctorU

Two Parts, No Going Back

Once you submit the first part, you cannot return to it. This changes how you should pace. You cannot bank flagged questions for a final sweep across the entire exam; your review window for each part closes when you submit it. Practice finishing each half with enough time to revisit flagged items before submitting, and treat the 15-minute break as a reset rather than extra study time.

Test Center or Remote

The test-center option through Meazure Learning took effect January 1, 2025, so older remote-only instructions you may find online are superseded. If you choose live online proctoring, you must complete equipment and workspace checks, use the required Guardian browser, and allow extra appointment time for setup and the break beyond the four hours of testing. Nothing erodes performance like a technical scramble in the first minutes, so complete the system check well before exam day.

Reading the 85% Pass Rate Correctly

UCNS certification statistics report an 85% historical average initial NO pass rate. This figure is frequently misread, so a few cautions are in order:

  • It is a historical average, not a 2025 or 2026 pass rate.
  • The cohort range and denominator are not disclosed, so you cannot tell how many candidates sat in any given administration.
  • It is not a cut score. An 85% pass rate does not mean you need to answer 85% of questions correctly.
  • The separately published 2025 C-cert average score is a different metric for a different activity and should not be treated as an initial-exam pass rate.
Pass rate versus passing score: The pass rate tells you roughly what share of candidates historically succeeded. The passing score would tell you how many items you must get right. UCNS publishes the former in aggregate form and does not publish the latter for the initial exam. Conflating the two is the most common error in online discussion of this credential.

Candidates are also a self-selected group: eligible physicians who have already met demanding prerequisites. Keep that in mind when deciding how much comfort to take from the number. For a deeper treatment, read NO Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

Where Your Points Come From: The Four Domains

The currently linked Neuro-Oncology Certification Examination Content Outline was revised October 10, 2018. It is not a newly issued 2026 blueprint, but it is the published document defining the four weighted initial-exam categories. Since your result depends on performance across all four, know what each demands. For a full walkthrough, see NO Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Adult Primary Nervous System Tumors (35%)

The largest domain, and the one where weakness is hardest to offset elsewhere.

  • Diagnostic methods: clinical history and examination, laboratory testing, imaging, neuropathology, and other neurodiagnostic procedures
  • Standard, experimental, and medical neuro-oncologic therapies

Domain 2: Pediatric Primary Nervous System Tumors (25%)

Mirrors the adult domain's structure but with a pediatric lens, which is a trap for adult-focused practitioners.

  • The same diagnostic method categories, applied to children
  • Standard, experimental, and medical therapies in pediatric populations

Domain 3: Metastatic Cancer to the Nervous System (15%)

The smallest domain, but its topics overlap heavily with day-to-day neuro-oncology practice.

  • Brain and spinal cord metastases
  • Skull base and leptomeningeal disease
  • Epidural disease and spinal cord compression
  • Plexus and peripheral nerve involvement

Domain 4: Systemic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders (25%)

Broad and heterogeneous, which makes it easy to under-study.

  • Toxic, nutritional, and metabolic encephalopathy; central and systemic infections; cerebrovascular disease
  • Blood products and growth-factor support; paraneoplastic syndromes
  • Adverse effects of surgery, drugs, and radiation; seizures; raised intracranial pressure
  • Venous thrombosis; neutropenia, thrombocytopenia, and anemia; transplantation-related neurologic complications
  • Pain and headache care; palliation and end-of-life care

One quirk worth knowing: the outline's detailed section heading reads "Systemic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders," while its summary table prints "Systematic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders." This is an internal wording discrepancy in the source document. Both refer to the same 25% category, so do not let the variation confuse you when you see it in different places.

Why There Is No 2026 Sitting

The title of this article refers to 2026, but the initial exam is administered biennially in odd-numbered years. There is no initial-exam sitting in 2026. The next published sitting is December 6-10, 2027. The relevant dates for that cycle are:

  • Applications open March 1
  • Standard deadline June 1
  • Extended deadline June 15, with a $500 late fee
  • Approved candidates schedule between July 19 and November 22

The practical consequence is that a candidate who misses a window waits two years, which raises the stakes of getting your preparation right the first time. Use the gap to your advantage: a 2026 start gives you a long runway to cover all four domains thoroughly. See NO Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling for scheduling detail.

Fees and the Price Conflict

Cost belongs in any conversation about passing, because a failed attempt means paying again after a two-year wait. Here the official sources disagree, and that conflict should not be glossed over.

SourcePublished amountNotes
General UCNS certification fee schedule and FAQ$1,700 total$680 nonrefundable application plus $1,020 examination; no member/non-member tiers
Exact NO store product EX_NO_I$2,200Undated listing

The official pages do not explicitly reconcile this difference. Do not treat either figure as an uncontested checkout price; verify the amount on your actual application invoice. Eligible graduates of UCNS-accredited fellowships receive a $250 discount when applying within 48 months, provided the program was accredited at completion. For more, see NO Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Eligibility: Four Alternative Routes

You cannot sit for the exam without first qualifying, and qualification is a form of gatekeeping that precedes any scoring question. General eligibility requires qualifying ABMS certification in neurology, child neurology, neurological surgery, internal medicine and medical oncology, pediatrics and pediatric hematology-oncology, or radiation oncology (or equivalent AOA/RCPSC certification), plus current unrestricted licensure in the United States, its territories, or Canada and in each jurisdiction of practice.

On top of that, you complete one of four alternative routes, not all four:

RouteCore requirement
1. UCNS-Accredited FellowshipAt least 12 months of NO fellowship; apply within 48 months of completion; director verification or completion certificate
2. Practice TrackAt least 36 months post-residency with at least 25% of professional time in NO within the prior 60 months, plus one of: 12 months of formal non-accredited NO training, 50 NO-specific AMA PRA Category 1 CME hours in the prior 60 months, or a full-time academic appointment teaching NO with a chair letter
3. Academic Appointment at a UCNS-Accredited ProgramFull-time faculty appointment teaching NO fellows, chair verification, and practice-time requirements
4. Internationally Trained Faculty at UCNS-Accredited ProgramsActive appointment or written offer, chair verification that passing the next available exam is a condition of appointment, and documentation of the required practice period

A fellow applying before completion must finish at least 25 days before exam week, with confirmation received within 20 days of completion. These routes are alternative credentialing pathways, not extra exams. The full breakdown lives in NO Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Do Not Confuse the C-cert Quiz Threshold With the Initial Exam

Some of the passing-score numbers circulating online come from the continuing-certification program rather than the initial exam. Once you are certified, validity is maintained through annual Continuous Certification (C-cert), beginning the calendar year after initial certification. The legacy ten-year renewal model is not the current rule.

The C-cert quiz is a separate activity with entirely different mechanics:

FeatureInitial Exam (EX_NO_I)Annual C-cert Quiz
Format200 multiple-choice questions, four hours25 questions, 100 minutes
Reference useClosed-bookOpen-article
ProctoringProctored (center or live online)Unproctored
Passing standardNo verified numerical score80% required
AttemptsBiennial sittingsUp to three attempts per year
The 80% trap: The 80% requirement and the three-attempt allowance apply to the annual C-cert quiz only. They do not describe the initial certification exam. Anyone telling you the NO exam requires 80% is describing the wrong activity.

C-cert obligations include maintaining the required primary board certification and unrestricted license, reading the annual list of up to ten articles or guidelines, paying the $175 annual fee per subspecialty ($150 by June 1), and passing that year's quiz by December 31. Two consecutive years of noncompliance lead to loss of certification. The published 2026 NO C-cert reading list is continuing-certification preparation, not a replacement initial-exam blueprint.

Turning Domain Weights Into a Study Plan

Since no cut score is published, the sensible strategy is to protect yourself across the weighted domains. Below is a sample allocation that follows the published weights, with a rationale for each placement. For a fuller approach, see the NO Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt and the NO Cheat Sheet 2026.

Weeks 1-4

Adult Primary Tumors (35%)

  • Start here because it carries the most weight and anchors the neuropathology and imaging vocabulary used throughout
  • Review diagnostic methods before therapies so treatment questions have context
Weeks 5-7

Pediatric Primary Tumors (25%)

  • Schedule this immediately after adult tumors to contrast the two populations while the material is fresh
  • Pay attention to where pediatric management diverges from adult practice
Weeks 8-9

Metastatic Disease (15%)

  • Cover brain, spinal, skull base, leptomeningeal, epidural, and plexus disease
  • Spend extra time on spinal cord compression, a high-yield clinical scenario
Weeks 10-12

Systemic Cancer-Related Disorders (25%)

  • Break this broad domain into themes: encephalopathies and infections, hematologic and vascular issues, treatment toxicities, and symptom management
  • Finish with palliation and end-of-life care, which candidates often neglect

Finally, rehearse the two-part structure. Take full-length practice blocks that mirror 100-question halves with a short break, and practice submitting each half without returning to it. You can find structured practice at our main practice test site, and our NO Exam Prep question bank is organized so you can drill each of the four domains separately before combining them.

Key Takeaway

Because the cut score is unpublished, aim for consistent competence in all four domains rather than excellence in one or two. Domain 1 at 35% rewards depth, but the combined 50% held by pediatric tumors and systemic disorders will punish gaps.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the Neuro-Oncology Certification (NO) exam?

A numerical initial-exam passing score has not been verified in the retrieved official materials. UCNS describes expert standard setting and post-exam psychometric review rather than publishing a fixed percentage-correct cut line.

Is the 85% figure the passing score?

No. The 85% is a historical average initial pass rate reported in UCNS certification statistics, with no disclosed cohort range or denominator. It describes the share of candidates who passed, not the share of questions you must answer correctly, and it is not a 2026 figure.

Can I take the initial NO exam in 2026?

No. The initial exam is offered biennially in odd-numbered years. The next published sitting is December 6-10, 2027, with applications opening March 1 and the standard deadline on June 1 of that year.

Does the 80% C-cert quiz requirement apply to the initial exam?

No. The 80% threshold applies only to the annual C-cert quiz, which is a separate 25-question, 100-minute, open-article, unproctored activity with up to three attempts. It does not describe the closed-book initial exam.

How much does the exam cost, and which price is correct?

The general UCNS fee schedule and FAQ publish $1,700 total ($680 application plus $1,020 exam), while the exact NO store product displays $2,200. The official pages do not reconcile this, so verify the amount on your application invoice. See our pricing breakdown for details.

Ready to pass your NO exam?

Put this into practice with free NO questions across every exam domain.