- What Neuro-Oncology Certification (NO) Actually Is
- Exam Format and Test-Day Mechanics
- When the Exam Is Offered (Not in 2026)
- Four Routes to Eligibility
- Fees and the Source Conflict
- The Four Content Domains
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Pass Rate and Passing Score: What Is and Is Not Known
- After Passing: Continuous Certification (C-cert)
- Career Value Without Overclaiming
- Adjacent Study Resources and Their Limits
- Frequently Asked Questions
- NO is the UCNS physician subspecialty credential in neuro-oncology, product identifier EX_NO_I, not a nursing or medical-oncology certificate.
- The initial exam is 200 multiple-choice questions in four hours, split into two parts with a 15-minute break.
- The initial exam runs in odd-numbered years only; no sitting in 2026, next published window is December 6-10, 2027.
- Adult tumors carry 35% of the content outline; pediatric tumors and systemic cancer-related disorders carry 25% each.
What Neuro-Oncology Certification (NO) Actually Is
"NO" is an acronym shared by several unrelated credentials, so precision matters here. This article covers one thing only: the neuro-oncology subspecialty certification offered by the United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS). It is a physician credential. It is not a nursing oncology certificate, not an ABPN neurology examination, and not a medical-oncology board certificate. If you have been reading about another credential that happens to abbreviate to "NO," none of its fees, dates, or domain weights apply to this one. For a primer on the terminology itself, see What Is NO Certification? and What Does NO Stand For?.
The credential sits on top of a primary board certification. Physicians who already hold qualifying certification in neurology, neurosurgery, medical oncology, radiation oncology, or a related pathway use NO to document subspecialty expertise in tumors of the nervous system and the neurologic consequences of cancer. The exam's public product identifier is EX_NO_I, which is useful when you are confirming you are looking at the correct UCNS store page.
Exam Format and Test-Day Mechanics
The initial examination consists of 200 multiple-choice questions delivered over four hours. UCNS has not publicly specified how many of those items are scored versus pretest in the materials available, so avoid assuming a particular scored count when you plan pacing. The test is closed-book and divided into two parts with a structured 15-minute break between them. Once you submit a part, you cannot return to it, which makes first-pass decision discipline more important than it would be on a fully navigable exam.
Test center or live online proctoring
Candidates currently choose between Meazure Learning test centers and live online proctoring through ProctorU. The test-center option took effect January 1, 2025, so any older guidance describing remote-only delivery is superseded. If you choose remote delivery, expect extra overhead:
- Equipment and workspace checks before the exam begins
- Use of the required Guardian browser
- Additional appointment time beyond the four-hour exam for setup and the 15-minute break
When the Exam Is Offered (Not in 2026)
This is the single most common point of confusion. The NO initial exam is administered biennially in odd-numbered years, which means there is no initial sitting in 2026. The next published sitting is December 6-10, 2027. The application cycle for that sitting is:
| Milestone | Published Date |
|---|---|
| Applications open | March 1 |
| Standard application deadline | June 1 |
| Extended deadline (with $500 late fee) | June 15 |
| Approved candidates schedule their appointment | July 19 - November 22 |
| Examination window | December 6-10, 2027 |
Treat 2026 as a preparation and eligibility-documentation year rather than a testing year. A dedicated walkthrough of windows and deadlines lives in NO Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling. Always confirm against the UCNS exam schedule page before committing travel or leave, since published cycles can be revised.
Four Routes to Eligibility
Every applicant needs a qualifying primary certification and current unrestricted licensure. Qualifying primary certifications include ABMS certification in neurology, child neurology, neurological surgery, internal medicine AND medical oncology, pediatrics AND pediatric hematology-oncology, or radiation oncology, or equivalent AOA or RCPSC certification. Licensure must be unrestricted in the United States, its territories, or Canada and in each jurisdiction where you practice.
Beyond that baseline, you complete ONE of four alternative routes. These are credentialing pathways, not additional exams.
| Route | Core Requirement | Key Detail |
|---|---|---|
| 1. UCNS-Accredited Fellowship | At least 12 months of NO fellowship | Apply within 48 months of completion; director verification or completion certificate required |
| 2. Practice Track | At least 36 months post-residency with at least 25% of professional time in NO | Within the prior 60 months; plus one additional training, CME, or academic-teaching element |
| 3. Academic Appointment at a UCNS-Accredited Program | Full-time faculty teaching NO fellows | Department-chair verification plus practice-time and practice-pattern requirements |
| 4. Internationally Trained Faculty | Active program-director/faculty appointment or written offer at a UCNS-accredited program | Chair verification that passing is a condition of appointment; documented practice period in preceding 60 months |
Route 1: fellowship graduates
The fellowship route is the most direct. You need at least 12 months of NO fellowship at a UCNS-accredited program and must apply within 48 months of finishing. Fellows who apply before completion must finish at least 25 days before exam week, with confirmation received within 20 days of completion. Missing that confirmation window is an avoidable administrative failure, so build it into your calendar early.
Route 2: the Practice Track
This route is for physicians who built NO expertise through practice rather than an accredited fellowship. It requires at least 36 months after residency with at least 25% of professional time devoted to NO in the United States, its territories, or Canada, within the prior 60 months. That window is measured to the application deadline or August 31, whichever is later. Two physician letters together must cover the full practice interval, and non-accredited subspecialty training can count toward that interval.
The Practice Track also requires ONE of the following: at least 12 months of formal non-accredited post-residency NO training with program verification; at least 50 AMA PRA Category 1 NO-specific CME hours in the prior 60 months; or a full-time academic appointment teaching NO to medical students, residents, or fellows, with a department-chair letter.
Routes 3 and 4: faculty pathways
Route 3 serves full-time faculty at UCNS-accredited training programs who teach NO fellows, with chair verification. Route 4 serves internationally trained faculty. It permits a medical diploma from a World Directory of Medical Schools institution and primary-specialty certification by a competent foreign board approved by the Certification Council, alongside valid US, territorial, or Canadian licensure. The chair must verify that passing the next available examination is a condition of appointment and that recruitment and retention are essential. UCNS template letters apply across routes. For a fuller eligibility walkthrough, see NO Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Fees and the Source Conflict
Cost is where careful readers should slow down, because official UCNS pages do not agree with each other and do not explicitly reconcile the difference.
- The general UCNS certification fee schedule and FAQ publish $1,700 total: a $680 nonrefundable application fee plus a $1,020 examination fee. No member or non-member tiers are listed.
- The undated exact NO store product (EX_NO_I) displays $2,200.
Two adjustments are documented. Eligible graduates of UCNS-accredited fellowships receive a $250 discount when applying within 48 months of completion, provided the program was accredited at the time they completed it. Missing the June 1 deadline and using the June 15 extension adds a $500 late fee. Both are simple to avoid or capture with early planning. A broader cost breakdown, including indirect expenses, is in NO Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
The Four Content Domains
The currently linked Neuro-Oncology Certification Examination Content Outline is revised October 10, 2018. It is not a newly issued 2026 blueprint, so treat it as the authoritative published structure while remembering its age. One quirk worth knowing: Domain 4 appears as "Systemic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders" in the detailed section heading but is printed as "Systematic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders" in the summary table. That is an internal wording discrepancy in the source document, not a different domain.
Domain 1: Adult Primary Nervous System Tumors (35%)
The largest domain, covering both diagnosis and treatment of adult primary tumors.
- Diagnostic methods: clinical history and examination, laboratory testing, imaging, neuropathology, and other neurodiagnostic procedures
- Standard, experimental, and medical neuro-oncologic therapies
- Expect integration questions that combine imaging pattern, pathology, and treatment selection in one stem
Domain 2: Pediatric Primary Nervous System Tumors (25%)
Mirrors the adult structure but for children, where tumor biology, age-related presentation, and treatment tolerances differ.
- Same diagnostic-method categories as the adult domain
- Standard, experimental, and medical therapies in a pediatric context
- Candidates from adult-only backgrounds often under-prepare here
Domain 3: Metastatic Cancer to the Nervous System (15%)
The smallest domain, but clinically dense.
- Brain and spinal cord metastases
- Skull base disease and leptomeningeal disease
- Epidural disease and spinal cord compression
- Plexus and peripheral nerve involvement
Domain 4: Systemic Cancer-Related Neurologic Disorders (25%)
The broadest domain by topic count, covering neurologic problems that arise from cancer or its treatment.
- Toxic, nutritional, and metabolic encephalopathy; central and systemic infections; cerebrovascular disease
- Blood products and growth-factor support; neutropenia, thrombocytopenia, and anemia; venous thrombosis
- Paraneoplastic syndromes; seizures; raised intracranial pressure
- Adverse effects of surgery, drugs, and radiation; transplantation-related neurologic complications
- Pain and headache care; palliation and end-of-life care
For a deeper domain-by-domain treatment, see NO Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
Because the exam is not offered until late 2027, you have time to sequence content deliberately rather than cram. The weights suggest a clear allocation logic: Domain 1 deserves the largest block, but Domains 2 and 4 together equal half the exam and are where specialists with a narrow practice focus most often have gaps.
Baseline against the outline
- Print the content outline and mark each subtopic as strong, shaky, or unseen
- Take a mixed diagnostic set to find which of the four domains is weakest
Domain 4 and Domain 2 first
- Work through systemic complications (thrombosis, cytopenias, paraneoplastic syndromes, palliative care) because they sit outside many practices' daily routine
- Study pediatric tumors on their own terms rather than as small adults
Domain 1 depth and Domain 3 consolidation
- Build integrated adult-tumor cases linking imaging, neuropathology, and therapy
- Review metastatic syndromes, especially spinal cord compression and leptomeningeal disease
Timed two-part simulation
- Rehearse 200 questions in four hours with a 15-minute break and no ability to return to a submitted part
For broader preparation strategy beyond this domain sequencing, the NO Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt goes further, and the question-driven drills on the NO Exam Prep practice test site let you target one domain at a time.
Pass Rate and Passing Score: What Is and Is Not Known
Official UCNS certification statistics report an 85% historical average initial NO pass rate. That is the only pass-rate figure with an official source, and it comes with real limits: no cohort range and no denominator are disclosed, and it is not a 2025-specific or 2026 pass rate. A separately published 2025 C-cert average score should not be confused with an initial-exam pass rate; they measure different things.
A numerical initial-exam passing score is not verified. UCNS describes expert standard setting and post-exam psychometric review, which means the cut score reflects a defined judgment process rather than a simple fixed percentage you can publish on a flashcard. Results arrive after processing rather than immediately at the end of the exam. See NO Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and NO Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass for how to interpret these limits, and How Hard Is the NO Exam? for a difficulty discussion grounded in the format.
Key Takeaway
An 85% historical average is reassuring but not predictive. Candidates are a self-selected, credential-qualified group, so do not treat the figure as permission to under-prepare, particularly in the broad systemic and pediatric domains.
After Passing: Continuous Certification (C-cert)
Certification is maintained through annual Continuous Certification, called C-cert, beginning the calendar year after initial certification. The legacy ten-year renewal model is not the current rule. Requirements each year are:
- Maintain the required primary board certification and an unrestricted license
- Read the annual list of up to ten articles or guidelines
- Pay the annual fee of $175 per subspecialty ($150 if paid by June 1)
- Pass that year's C-cert quiz by December 31
The quiz is a separate activity: 25 questions, 100 minutes, open-article, unproctored, with an 80% passing requirement and up to three attempts. None of those logistics or that threshold describe the initial exam, so do not carry them over when you plan for 2027. No additional UCNS CME-hour reporting is required beyond C-cert, although your primary board's CME obligations remain separate and completing the activity can earn CME. Two consecutive years of noncompliance lead to loss of certification. The published 2026 NO C-cert reading list serves continuing-certification preparation; it is not a replacement initial-exam blueprint.
Career Value Without Overclaiming
Who benefits from NO? The credential is most relevant to physicians whose practice centers on brain and spinal tumors and on neurologic complications of cancer: neurologists, neurosurgeons, medical and radiation oncologists, and pediatric specialists working in academic neuro-oncology programs, comprehensive cancer centers, and tumor-focused clinics. For faculty at UCNS-accredited training programs, certification can be a condition of appointment, as Route 4 explicitly illustrates.
Salary is a harder question, and it deserves honesty. Earnings in this field depend heavily on specialty, region, practice setting, and academic versus private structure, and there is no verified measurement of a pay premium attributable to NO alone. Be skeptical of any source that credits the credential itself with a specific dollar uplift. A useful ROI analysis compares your exam and C-cert costs against concrete, local factors: credentialing requirements at target employers, academic promotion criteria, and referral visibility. The reasoning is laid out in NO Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the NO Certification Worth It?, and role-focused context appears in NO Jobs.
Adjacent Study Resources and Their Limits
No single resource has been verified as complete, current UCNS NO exam coverage, so build your plan from the content outline and treat everything else as supplemental. Several adjacent options exist:
| Resource | What It Offers | Caveat |
|---|---|---|
| Society for Neuro-Oncology review course | 2026 board-relevant course overview with CME | Course content not independently validated against the exam |
| Springer Nature: Neuro-Oncology Explained Through Multiple Choice Questions (2023) | Question-style neuro-oncology practice | A general book, not mapped to the UCNS outline |
| Springer Publishing: Ultimate Review for the Neurology Boards (2016) | Neurology-board review with a neuro-oncology chapter | Broader and older than the NO exam |
| Draw It to Know It | Search-visible adult-tumor practice lessons | Does not span all four domains |
| Third-party marketplace study guides | Resale listings of study materials | Claims and contents not validated |
A notable gap across these options is a practice bank that separates adult, pediatric, metastatic, and systemic topics in line with the outline's weights. That is exactly the kind of blueprint-aligned drilling the NO Exam Prep question bank is designed to support, and a compact fact review is available in the NO Cheat Sheet 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. The initial exam runs biennially in odd-numbered years, so there is no 2026 sitting. The next published sitting is December 6-10, 2027, with applications opening March 1 and closing June 1 (extended to June 15 with a $500 late fee).
The initial exam has 200 multiple-choice questions in four hours, in two parts separated by a 15-minute structured break. It is closed-book, and you cannot return to a part after submitting it. How many items are scored versus pretest is not publicly specified.
Official UCNS pages conflict. The general fee schedule and FAQ list $1,700 total ($680 application plus $1,020 examination), while the exact NO store product shows $2,200. Verify the amount on your application invoice. Eligible fellowship graduates may receive a $250 discount.
No. You complete only one of the four alternative routes: accredited fellowship, Practice Track, academic appointment at an accredited program, or the internationally trained faculty route. You must also hold a qualifying primary certification and unrestricted licensure.
No. The C-cert quiz is a separate 25-question, 100-minute, open-article, unproctored activity with an 80% passing requirement and up to three attempts. It applies only to annual continuing certification after you are certified, not to the proctored initial exam.